Glenfarne Kiltyclogher GAA Club

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Site Meter This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Tuesday, February 07, 2006


On Sunday morning last the Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher area was saddened to hear of the death of Seamus McDermott. Seamus was an active member of Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher GAA club and served the club both on the playing field and in numerous administrative positions over the years. Seamus devoted a lot of his time to underage football in Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher and this work, carried out with a great determination and commitment is now evident in the club's current crop of senior players. Seamus also served the club as Senior Team Manager and as a selector on many occasions. Seamus also served as club chairman on a number of occasions over the years with his last term coming to an end in January of 2004. He was also an ever-present spectator at all Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher’s matches both Senior and Junior where he took great joy in watching his four sons wear the Black and White with distinction. Seamus was an avid Leitrim supporter and rarely missed a match when his beloved county was in action. Seamus will be sadly missed by all of us who knew him and had the pleasure of working with him over the years. Gaelic Football and Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher GAA club has lost one of its finest servants. To his wife Bridie, daughter Denise and sons, David, Paul, Barry and J.J we express our deepest sympathy. May he rest in peace.

Dinner Dance
All roads led to Ballyshannon on Saturday night 28th January for the clubs annual dinner dance. A crowd of over 120 was in attendance for what turned out to be a great night. The club’s annual awards were presented on the night with the winners as follows: Senior Player of the Year: Thomas McDermott, Junior Player of the Year: Sean McManus, Young Player of the Year: Conor O’Rourke. The club person of the year award went to treasurer, Dermot O’Rourke. The trophies for these awards were sponsored by D & S Concrete Ltd. Also a number of presentations were made to couples who got married since our last dinner dance. These gifts were sponsored by Philomena Burns. We also numerous spot prizes on the night. The sponsors of these included, Cllr. Michael Colreavy, Keenan’s Spar and Bridgestone. A big thank you to the management and staff of Dorian’s Hotel, Ballyshannon for the great service provided on the night. Also to John Farry and D.J Danny Feehily who provided the entertainment on the night. A big thank you also to our bus driver Vincey McGovern and his wife Ann who ensured everyone made it home safe and sound after a great night.

Annual Draw
Our Annual Draw took place at the afore mentioned Dinner Dance. The prize winners were as follows: €1000 Michael Mitchell, €500 Sgt Gallagher, Kiltyclogher, €500 Joan Kelly, Mullawn, €100 John Sheerin, Kiltyclogher, €100 Margaret Keaney, Kiltyclogher, €100 Denis Keown, c/o Ketty’s Bar. A big thank you to our sponsors of the draw: Felix McHugh, Pat Slevin, Gerry O’Hagan, Leitrim Overnight, Ketty’s Bar and Noel Gilgunn. Without the help of these people the draw would not have been the success it was. Thank you to all our supporters who once again showed great generosity in buying tickets. Also a big thank you to former players and club members no longer living in the area who sold and returned books of tickets.

Minor League
The Minor League kicks off on this Sunday at 12pm with an away match in Aughnasheelin.

Training for the senior and junior teams continues on Tuesdays and Fridays. All players should be in attendance.

Ladies Football
A meeting will be held on Thursday 23rd February to discuss the formation of a ladies football team in Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher.

Club membership is now available. It costs €20 for family membership (Two Adults and two non-playing children), €15 for standard adult membership, €5 for student membership and €2 for all underage players. Membership forms can be obtained from Padraig McGourty @ 086-8106431. All players are reminded that in order to be eligible to play they must be fully paid up members. Closing date for obtaining membership is 31st March.