Glenfarne Kiltyclogher GAA Club

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Site Meter This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Tuesday, July 25, 2006


Intermediate Football Championship Group 2 Round 1

Glenfarne/Kilty 4-10 Allen Gaels 1-11

They say goals win games and this proved to be the case as Glenfarne/Kilty opened their Intermediate Championship campaign with a hard fought win over Allen Gaels. It was the Glenfarne/Kilty men’s ability to get goals at crucial stages of the game that proved the decisive factor in this closely fought contest. Allen Gaels second string are traditionally strong in this competition and they put a tremondous fighting performance but it was the Glenfarne/Kilty men's ability to seemingly open up the Allen Gaels defence at will that proved to be their downfall.

Glenfarne/Kilty opened the scoring on two minutes with a Michael Maguire free. Allen Gaels however had the perfect response when a well hit shot from Thomas Nolan was saved by Glenfarne/Kilty goalkeeper Daragh Keaney only for the ball to rebound off the unlucky John McManus and into the net. Glenfarne/Kilty responded to this setback two minutes later with a well taken point from Conor O’Rourke. Four minutes later they were in front when Shane McLoughlin brilliantly flicked the ball over the advancing Oisin Dolan and into the net. Straight away Glenfarne/Kilty goaled again through Dermot O’Rourke to put five points between the teams. For the next 10 minutes Glenfarne/Kilty completely dominated the game but could only add a further point to their tally from Shane McLoughlin. On Twenty minutes Patrick McManus pulled a point back for Allen Gaels and this was followed by points on twenty-six and twenty minutes from Donal Herron and Alan McKeon to cut the gap to three points. Just before half-time Michael Maguire pointed a free for Glenfarne/Kilty to leave four points between the teams at the break.

Glenfarne/Kilty started the second-half just as they finished the first with Michael Maguire pointing a free after a foul on Dermot O’Rourke. He followed this up three minutes later with a point from a forty-five. On eight minutes Thomas Nolan point for Allen Gaels and he followed it up three minutes later with another point as the Allen Gaels men enjoyed a period of dominance. On fourteen minutes Paul McGovern pointed from play for the Drumshanbo men and this was followed up a minute later by a point from Pascal Gillard to leave just two between the teams midway through the second half. On sixteen minutes Michael Maguire restored the Glenfarne/Kilty lead with a point from a free. This was quickly followed by a goal by substitute J.J McDermott to leave the Glenfarne/Kilty men six points to the good. Allen Gaels however responded with points from Paul McGovern and Patrick McManus to cut the gap to four points with ten minutes left. On twenty two minutes Fergal Clancy scored from play for Glenfarne/Kilty to increase their lead to five points but Donal Herron responded for Allen Gaels with a point from a free. J.J McDermott then restored Glenfarne’s five point advantage with a well taken point. Glenfarne/Kilty then put the game out of reach with a well worked goal from Joe Keaney on twenty-six minutes. Allen Gaels responded with a point from Thomas Nolan on twenty-eight minutes. Michael Maguire completed the scoring when he pointed in the last minute. With that referee Brian Mallon brought the game to an end.

The North Leitrim men will be happy with getting their campaign off to a winning start and had good performances from the impressive Dermot O’Rourke, Conor O’Rourke, Barry McDermott, Joe Keaney, Fergal Clancy and Shane McLoughlin. For Allen Gaels Michael McManus and Pascal Gillard at midfield, and forwards Alan McKeon, Thomas Nolan, Donal Herron and Patrick McManus were their best performers.

Allen Gaels: Oisin Dolan, Niall Higgins, Damien Gilbane, Alan Loftus, Brian Tracey, John Keane, Shane McGovern, Michael McManus, Pascal Gillard(0-1), Thomas Nolan (0-3), Alan McKeon (0-1), Paul McGovern(0-2), Donal Herron(0-2), Patrick McManus (0-2), Denis Gibbons.

Glenfarne/Kilty: Daragh Keaney, Ciaran Clancy, Jonathon Keaney, Stephen Sweeney, Barry McDermott, Conor O’Rourke (0-1), John McManus, Enda Gallagher, Thomas McDermott, Declan Sweeney, Joe Keaney (1-0), Michael Maguire (0-6), Shane McLoughlin (1-1), Dermot O’Rourke (1-0), Fergal Clancy (0-1). Sub: J.J McDermott (1-1) for Declan Sweeney.